Fellowship Applications and Past Winners

Who can apply for the Fellowship?

The AFI RC Research Fellowship is open to established researchers and audio-visual practitioners. These may include international and Australian applicants (resident citizens and expatriates) who have achieved eminence as academics, scholars, researchers, writers, audio and audio-visual practitioners, artists and archive professionals.

How do I apply for the Fellowship?

Applications for this year’s Fellowship are currently closed.

Subscribe to FilmFile for 2021 Fellowship updates

Feel free to contact the AFI Research Collection if you have any questions.

Previous winners of AFIRC Fellowship

2020 – Dr Jessica Balanzategui
Children’s Television Genres in Australia 1960 – 2000 and Changing Paradigms of Quality Child-Appropriate Screen Content: Assessing cultural and policy discourses surrounding paradigmatic shifts in Australian children’s television genre trends

2019 – Dr Whitney Monaghan
Queer Television in Australia: Lesbians, Gays and Bisexuals on the Small Screen from 1970 to 2000

2018 – joint winners

Mark Ryan 
Digging up the history of Australian horror cinema: delineating the interwoven strands of horror, transnational-horror, Ozploitation and Australian Gothic movies from the 1970s to now

Stuart Richards
Queer Outwardly Australian Cinema.

2017 – Alexandra Heller-Nicholas
Hidden in Plain Sight: Australian Women’s Film Criticism, 1980 – 1999

2016 – no award

2015 – Alexia Kannas
Dancing with ghosts in the kingdom of shadows

2014 – joint winners

Andrew Nette and Dean Brandum
Policing Melbourne’s television mean streets

Kirsten Stevens
From Film Weeks to Festivals

2013 – joint winners

John Hughes
Filmmakers’ cooperatives in Australia between 1966-1986

Fincina Hopgood
Australian filmmakers’ use of comedy and autobiography to encourage empathy with mentally ill characters

2012 – Dr Catriona Mills
The writer in Australian television history

2011 – Brenda Weber
Research on Australian reality TV

Comments are closed.